## MINUTES OF A SPECIAL CALLED BOARD MEETING OF THE MAYOR AND BOARD OF ALDERMEN OF THE CITY OF MADISON, MISSISSIPPI

January 29, 2025

State of Mississippi County of Madison

## **Introduction and Attendance**

A Special Called Meeting of the Mayor and Board of Aldermen of the City of Madison, Mississippi was held at 3:00 p.m. on Wednesday, January 29, 2025 in the Conference Room at Madison City Hall, 1004 Madison Avenue, Madison, Mississippi. Those present in the room were Mayor Mary Hawkins Butler, City Attorney Chelsea Brannon, Administrative Assistant Janet Danks, and Chief Deputy City Clerk Lisa Winstead. Those present by telephone were Aldermen Tawanna Tatum, Pat Peeler, Janie Jarvis, Paul Tankersley, Mike Hudgins, and Guy Bowering. Alderman Sandra Strain was absent.

Notice of the date, time, location, and specific subject matter of business to be acted upon was given to each alderman at least three hours prior to the time fixed for the meeting, pursuant to Miss. Code Section 21-3-21.

The Chief Deputy City Clerk presented the Meeting Notice and fully executed Waiver of Notification. A copy of the Meeting Notice and Waiver of Notification is attached hereto and incorporated herein as **Exhibits A and B**, respectively.

Mayor Hawkins Butler called the meeting to order. The meeting proceeded as follows:

City Attorney Chelsea Brannon presented the following names of candidates for appointment as Municipal Election Commissioners for the coordination of the upcoming municipal election: Michael Gandy, Lori Godwin, Dan Hart, Steve Morris, and Kyle Smith. She explained that four of these five people served in this capacity in the 2021 elections and the fourth one, Dan Hart was taking the place of Kathy Sue Wells who is no longer eligible to serve. The motion was made by Alderman Jarvis to accept these candidates and appoint them to serve as election commissioners for the 2025 election. Alderman Tankersley seconded the motion and the vote was unanimous in favor of approval. Mayor Hawkins Butler declared the motion carried. A list of the commissioners is attached hereto as **Exhibit C**.

There being no further business for discussion, the motion was made by Alderman Jarvis and seconded by Alderman Tankersley to adjourn the meeting. After a unanimous vote of approval, Mayor Hawkins Butler declared the motion carried and the meeting adjourned.

Guy S. Bowering, Mayor Pro Tempore

Attest:

J. Nathan Hanson, City Clerk